THE MAKING OF THE MAKING OF

A wee oddity this’n.

I think it was one of the last written for the album. Played it live a bit when it was just Matt and me as a duo with him on xylophone (or ‘underwater milk bottles’ as one reviewer wrote…). I really wanted to record a proper church organ but alas we had to make do with a synth in the studio. I always think the outro with the melodica sounds like the old Hovis advert. Say ‘as good today as it’s always been’ out loud over it and you’ll see what I mean. You can also hear Matt exclaiming his joy at getting the xylophone part right at the end.

The title comes from a conversation me and Cal had whilst he was shooting the ‘Lung’ video. We were joking about having a DVD release of it with a ‘making of’ section and I suggested we should shoot a ‘making of the making of’. You just can’t bottle this kind of genius eh? He was on about making a sitcom and using this as the theme tune. He says a lot of things.

Listening back to the lyrics I guess it’s about the moment you first meet someone and how that shapes what comes next. I don’t know. It’s best not to think too hard about this stuff. I like it though. A simple little number.

Published in: on August 21, 2014 at 10:45 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thebofthebang.wordpress.com/2014/08/21/the-making-of-the-making-of/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

