PORT LA GALÉRE

Port La Galère, I’m led to believe, is a swanky area of the Côte d’Azur. Ive not been there myself. But JG Ballard told me so in his ace book Super-Cannes. This song is loosely based on ideas from said novel which, if you’ve read it, deals with a privileged, elite Utopian society of ex-pats living it up in the sun. On the face of it, everything looks swanky-dory but below the surface ugliness awaits. I should write the tag lines for books eh? The lyrics to this song kind of reflect that same feeling. Being somewhere where you feel a prisoner even though you are free and happy. Sinister. That imagery I find ever so appealing. Ballard’s book Cocaine Nights is on a similar bent and this ditty was indeed originally titled Heroine Chic. I then decided that was a bit of a toss title and rather than a light nod I went for a full on pinch. Again.

It’s an old song anyhow and has gone through a few different permutations in a couple of previous bands. For this take the accordion seemed to lead it so that’s the way we went. The percussion throughout is one of this clicky frog things you bring back from holiday (I think it was Kyle DC’s in this case…) and some little blocks of wood that we set up. I also remember doing a load of takes of that faux-flamenco guitar at the end as I constantly kept muffing it up. No Guitarist of the Year Awards heading my way anytime soon.

For no reason other than the holiday/coast/sun link, here’s me in a dodgy vest (I’d just woken up…) with a terrible barnet (no excuse…) covering Metronomy on banjo. Standard.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thebofthebang.wordpress.com/2014/09/10/port-la-galere/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

