COSINES

I don’t recall a lot about writing this song. It was one of the ‘written-in-twenty minutes’ ones. Sometimes, you’ll toil and toil over a song for years (literally) and you finally get to completing it only to realise it’s not as good as you’d hoped. Other times, you sit eating dinner or nonchalantly filing your nails, you pick up a guitar and inadvertently smash out a guaranteed pop number one in 5 mins.
In truth, my songwriting lies somewhere betwixt those two opposing nadirs. Oftentimes, I write a song really quickly, declare it the best thing ever, listen back to it a week later and realise that it’s utterly shit. Other times you have a little idea or riff and it can be months later that you write something else that makes you remember your earlier idea…pop the two together and you have something surprisingly nice. There the ones that I usually stick with. I don’t tend to write too much down or record any initial thoughts so, if I play something a few times and still like it/remember it a week or two later, then it’s probably worth pursuing. Always music first though. Lyrics come later. Generally about half an hour before we have to record it in the studio.

With ‘Cosines’, I think I probably loved it at the time but listening back now I actually don’t think it has much going for it. I like a few of the lyrics (about underachieving….again!) and the mention of good old Alfred (finished lighting his fires now…) but I don’t know…it’s not a classic Bang track by any means.
To make up for that, here is a classic track by one of my favourite artists ever. You’ll have to put up with  me covering it though I’m afraid. Sorry about that.

Published in: on September 11, 2014 at 2:15 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thebofthebang.wordpress.com/2014/09/11/cosines/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Love the Alfred reference in this song


Leave a Reply

